Navigation

Departments‎ > ‎

Municipal Courts

Municipal Court is the Judicial Branch of City government. Municipal Court handles Class C misdemeanor criminal cases, including certain traffic violations. Cases involving violations of city ordinances are also tried in the Municipal Court.

The mission of the Municipal Courts Department is to provide an accessible legal forum for individuals to have their court matters heard in a fair and efficient manner, while providing a high level of integrity, professionalism and customer service.

Receive a citation? Here's what to do.

You must respond in writing or in person no later than the date on the bottom of your citation. Our courteous staff will be happy to answer your questions and help you through the process. Please be aware that if you do not respond to your citation by the indicated date, a warrant may be issued for your arrest.

No Contest / Guilty

If you plea "No Contest" or "Guilty" you may pay the fine, or if you are eligible, request defensive driving or deferred disposition. If you wish to pay the fine, we offer a 30-day extension or payment plan, if you need it. There is a $25 fee added to each citation on a payment plan.
[
How to pay your traffic ticket]

Not Guilty

If you plea "Not Guilty" you may request a court date. We will schedule an arraignment hearing before our municipal court judge. After you enter your plea, the judge will set a trial date. The city attorney and the officer that issued the citation will be present at your trial. If you request trial by jury, we will notify you of the trial date.

Forms

Defer Application

Extension

Defensive Driving

 Texas Point Surcharge

The Driver Responsibility law (TRC § 708; Article 10, House Bill 3588, 78th Legislative Session) establishes a system which assigns points to convictions for moving violations classified as Class C misdemeanors and applies surcharges to offenders, based upon the type of offense and the time period in which the citation was received.

For each conviction, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will assign points to a person’s driver license as follows: 

  • Two points for a moving violation conviction in Texas or that of another state.  
  • Points will not be assigned for speeding less than 10% over the posted limit or for seat belt convictions.
  • Three points for a moving violation conviction in Texas that resulted in a vehicle crash.
  • Effective September 1, 2005, Child Safety Seat Violations will accrue two points.

  • Points accrued remain on the driver record for a period of three years from conviction date. An offense committed prior to September 1, 2003 will not apply to the assessment of points under the program.